which domain is better for forum ??? .com | .net | .info

Domain Names are an important part of SEO. Discuss anything domain name related from registration to grabbing expired domains.
andrewhudson
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 1:45 am
Contact:

which domain is better for forum ??? .com | .net | .info

Postby andrewhudson » Sun Jul 05, 2009 11:32 am

hello everyone here.

please tell me which domain i would choose for my forum .net,.info,.com ??

waiting for your reply :D

roshandark
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 9:31 pm
Contact:

Postby roshandark » Mon Jul 06, 2009 3:24 am

i think .com is best but i also suggest you to purchase all the domains , so need to worry afterwards. ok :D

Teena12
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 11:23 pm
Contact:

Postby Teena12 » Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:51 am

i think .com is always best

mdamin76
Posts: 819
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 6:58 pm
Location: On Stage
Contact:

Postby mdamin76 » Mon Jul 06, 2009 7:07 am

The decision is yours. Most of forums use .com

riazishere
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:41 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Postby riazishere » Thu Jul 09, 2009 12:13 am

.com is best

Bernie01
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 6:27 am
Location: Phil
Contact:

Postby Bernie01 » Mon Jul 13, 2009 4:46 am

com is the best i think but try the others.good luck

los-angeles-sales-trainin
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 5:24 am
Contact:

Postby los-angeles-sales-trainin » Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:26 am

Hello,
As per my opiniun i would choose for my forum .info. Because forum is informatic for all.
Last edited by los-angeles-sales-trainin on Thu Jan 21, 2010 9:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ketlin
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 10:02 pm
Contact:

Postby ketlin » Wed Jan 20, 2010 11:01 pm

Hi,
I am totally agree with Ishie that you should choose domain according tot the type of your site.
So people can understand about the type of site from its domain name.

I am giving the list of domain names and use of it so you can choose perfect domain for your site.

>> .biz - for business use
>> .cat - for Catalan language/culture
>> .com - for commercial organizations, but unrestricted
>> .coop - for cooperatives
>> .edu - for post-secondary educational establishments
>> .gov - for governments and their agencies in the United States
>> .info - for informational sites, but unrestricted
>> .jobs - for employment-related sites
>> .mil - for the US military
>> .name - for families and individuals
>> .net - originally for network infrastructures, now unrestricted
>> .org - originally for organizations not clearly falling within the other gTLDs, now unrestricted
>> .travel - for travel agents, airlines, hoteliers, tourism bureaus, etc.
100 Directory Submission at $15, 125 dofollow bookmarking $21.
http://www.blurbpoint.com/

anie_k
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:10 am
Contact:

Postby anie_k » Sat Jan 23, 2010 12:04 am

Its right selection of domain names depends on the purpose of your website. .com seems best for commercial sites and .info for information sites.

pwslinks
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 7:17 am
Contact:

Postby pwslinks » Thu Feb 18, 2010 11:42 pm

I think everyone preferred .com coz it's the most common but it really depends on what's the content of your forum. As what other said, if your forum is informative then you should go with .info but for commercial sites then go for .com or .net.

Easy as that...
:)

PaavoQuy
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 12:51 pm
Contact:

Postby PaavoQuy » Mon Feb 22, 2010 9:57 pm

I think all are equal. Not much difference between them. its only extension show as .com commercial, .edu education, etc

tom32
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 2:16 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Postby tom32 » Tue Feb 23, 2010 9:11 pm

I recommend .com for a forum. It is because people are more familiar with .com than any other extension.

web.hostingmadnes
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 2:53 am
Contact:

Re

Postby web.hostingmadnes » Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:14 am

ishie wrote:It depends on what kind of site you're making. If it's a general website, choose .com or .net. If you're building an information-based site, .info is the appropriate domain.

I 100% agree with Ishai answer.

mikejoel
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 10:32 pm
Contact:

Postby mikejoel » Tue May 04, 2010 10:29 pm

Would recommend .com, easy to remember for me.
[url]http://winches-direct.com/[/url]

khaxan
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 7:10 am
Location: Lahore, Pakistan
Contact:

Postby khaxan » Fri May 28, 2010 2:26 am

los-angeles-sales-trainin wrote:Hello,
As per my opiniun i would choose for my forum .info. Because forum is informatic for all.


I beg to differ. I think that you should go for .com domain no matter what. Whenever some one thinks of a website .com comes to mind first.
Submit Articles to our Free Article Directory for free online promotion and link popularity.


Return to “Domain Names Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests