Keyword Overuse Harm Rankings

Discuss keyword selection, research and related tools here.
mrrsx2006
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 2:04 am
Contact:

Keyword Overuse Harm Rankings

Postby mrrsx2006 » Tue Jun 24, 2008 2:19 am

Can overusing a keyword on a page actually hurt your rankings? When is it considered overused?

green8659
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2008 6:32 pm
Contact:

Postby green8659 » Tue Jun 24, 2008 10:08 am

The short answer is yes it can definitely hurt your ranking for that word. I can't tell you the exact number and I doubt there is one but the best rule of thumb is...if you read through your text and it doesn't sound like it was written for the user then Google will figure it out.

It also works on density so if you only have 2 paragraphs having the keyword show up 10 times might look bad. If you have 12 paragraphs of text on the page 10 isn't harmful.

Digitoko
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:05 am
Contact:

Postby Digitoko » Wed Jun 25, 2008 4:58 am

The over use of keyword is take harmful for a website, also Google considered as in keyword stuffing.

startupsalesmentor
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 4:19 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Contact:

What about meta tags?

Postby startupsalesmentor » Thu Jun 26, 2008 11:11 am

Does it hurt to have the same meta tasg on many pages in your blog?

Take a look at my blog, http://salesblog.karlgoldfield.com and tell me if I am hurting myself.

delhiseo
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 10:31 pm
Contact:

Postby delhiseo » Mon Jun 30, 2008 1:37 am

Yes lots of keyword on the page will hurt the ranking.

startupsalesmentor
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 4:19 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Contact:

So focus on one or two terms?

Postby startupsalesmentor » Mon Jun 30, 2008 6:09 am

So each page I shsould focus on one or two terms in the meta tags?

zakeytech
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 7:38 am
Contact:

Postby zakeytech » Sun Sep 07, 2008 8:17 am

I can’t believe my eyes.

shoppingwizzard.com
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 8:30 pm
Location: DALLAS, TX
Contact:

Too many Keywords???????

Postby shoppingwizzard.com » Thu Sep 18, 2008 7:56 pm

What if you use many keywords but only 2 or 3 times on just about every page?
would that that effect your ranking in a bad way?
I wouldn't think so but, why doesn't my site have better ratings? Most of the keywords have high rankings but some of them are not commonly used keywords so they should get at least a few hits a day.

http://shoppingwizzard.com
http://shoppingwizzard.com/cart/ :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

HelenaJohn
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 12:24 am
Contact:

Re: Keyword Overuse Harm Rankings

Postby HelenaJohn » Mon Sep 22, 2008 9:17 pm

mrrsx2006 wrote:Can overusing a keyword on a page actually hurt your rankings? When is it considered overused?



Over usage of keywords is harmful for rankings cuz Google will take it in spam. They should be 10 to 12 on a main page and 3 to 5 on sub pages.

terrence
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 5:23 am
Contact:

Postby terrence » Tue Sep 30, 2008 4:22 am

Definitely yes,, the spider will take those words as nonsense.

webid
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 11:34 am
Contact:

Postby webid » Wed Oct 08, 2008 7:34 am

I was not aware that having too many keywords for my blog could be actually hurting me. I was under the impression that the opposite was true. :roll:

Keith
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 10:26 pm
Contact:

Postby Keith » Fri Oct 17, 2008 2:33 am

:oops: :cry: :P

write2lifer
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 5:01 pm
Contact:

Definitely

Postby write2lifer » Sun Oct 19, 2008 9:54 am

Think of it this way, even if you somehow ranked due to overdoing it, what is the reader going to do when they see your page? Buh-bye! As to the metatags, you should set those on a per page basis to give a boost to whatever keyword you are targeting on that page.

VladTepes
Posts: 1463
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 9:42 am
Contact:

Postby VladTepes » Thu Oct 30, 2008 10:35 pm

Just put your keywords naturally on your contents and title, just right enough as you actually tell the subject. There is no benefit if you would repeated put keywords as in actual words, it is annoying and considered as noise.
Pet Beds - Quality, style and comfort plus healing and soothing warm effects for cold winter season.

my_misyel
Posts: 581
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 8:34 pm
Contact:

Postby my_misyel » Fri Oct 31, 2008 3:14 am

Just don't keep on repeating a certain keyword/s over and over again in a paragraph. (Its Spamming) :lol:


Return to “Keyword Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests